Troubador The White Rose

Released: 28/01/2021

ISBN: 9781800461178

eISBN: 9781800468542

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Author Website

The White Rose

Carlton Chronicles 2


History has shown there are no invincible armies” Josef Vissarionovich Stalin 
November 1939. Stalin has signed a non-aggression pact with Hitler and is focussing on reclaiming the former Grand Duchy of Finland. Alex Carlton is sent undercover as a Swedish newspaper correspondent to monitor the developing situation and report back to MI2, in London.  

As soviet bombers drop their bombs on Helsinki, Alex arrives in Finland and soon finds himself embroiled in the political and military efforts of a small Baltic state facing the might of Russia. He is captivated by the sheer determination of the Finnish people, and the skill and mastery of their military leaders as they defend their country against overwhelming odds, inflicting devastating casualties on the Soviet aggressor.  

For the 105 days the war lasted, Alex faces danger and risk, and after it is all over, he discovers that life is even more complicated when the country is at peace.

The second book in the series "The White Rose", which continues the saga and takes Alex Carlton back to his country of birth, Finland, is due for publication on 28th June 2020.

The third book, "Teddy's War" is in the final stage of being written and the fourth is being researched.

Be the first to review this book

Robert Webber

Robert Webber still the same incorrigible optimist of his youth that nowadays he likes to think is tempered with a little realism, although some might (and often do) suggest that it is really confusion disguised by recklessness!

Having begun his writing career authoring academic textbooks to support his teaching at universities in both England and Finland, Robert soon realised that there was a novel in his heart struggling to escape. When it finally emerged, it was clear that it had grown into a series.

Robert's debut novel, Carlton's Rise, was well received and began the saga of Alex Carlton's service to his adopted home of Great Britain. How many more in the series? Who knows, but there are plans for at least five.

The beautiful county of Northamptonshire in the heart of England is where Robert lives with his wife and son, both of whom have been the inspiration for his writing.

When not writing, Robert enjoys good food (both cooking and eating it), the theatre from an audience perspective, travelling, photography and spending time with his son doing "boy's" things.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £14.99
  • To get our LOCKDOWN deal please enter the code below
Also by Robert Webber / Related Books