Troubador Teddy's War

Released: 28/07/2021

ISBN: 9781800463813

eISBN: 9781800466074

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Author Website

Teddy's War

Carlton Chronicles 3


“…our service operates in the background, and now it appears that there may be lurking in that milieu a malevolent spirit that we need to flush out…”

June 1940. The fledgeling Air Transport Auxiliary is rocked by a scandal that could ground the service before it has fully developed its wings. Teddy Carlton is approached by the acquaintance of an old school friend to help resolve the issue and thus embarks on a journey that sees her engaged in some of the most exciting work that a woman could perform in wartime. 

Her voyage sees Teddy embroiled in the secret world of espionage while exploiting her nascent skills in flying until she becomes one of the country’s top ferry pilots and a respected agent of the Security Service. Heartache and joy are her constant companions throughout her service, but the love for her family and her country keeps Teddy focused on the ultimate goal – the defeat of Nazi Germany... 

…and her husband only knew the half of it.

The second book in the series "The White Rose", which continues the saga and takes Alex Carlton back to his country of birth, Finland, is due for publication on 28th June 2020.

The third book, "Teddy's War" is in the final stage of being written and the fourth is being researched.

Was so pleased to see another book in this series, and even better as it shows Alex’s wife, Teddy, war efforts. As with the previous books it is great read for those who love the details of history. In Teddy’s War we get a glimpse into the lives of women in WWII, especially those who loved to fly, but were too “delicate” to be part of the air force. It shows the progression of planes, how women were a big part of the ATA (Air Transport Auxiliary) – and it also shows the effects war has on mental health.

Original review:

by NetGalley review

Robert Webber

Robert Webber still the same incorrigible optimist of his youth that nowadays he likes to think is tempered with a little realism, although some might (and often do) suggest that it is really confusion disguised by recklessness!

Having begun his writing career authoring academic textbooks to support his teaching at universities in both England and Finland, Robert soon realised that there was a novel in his heart struggling to escape. When it finally emerged, it was clear that it had grown into a series.

Robert's debut novel, Carlton's Rise, was well received and began the saga of Alex Carlton's service to his adopted home of Great Britain. How many more in the series? Who knows, but there are plans for at least five.

The beautiful county of Northamptonshire in the heart of England is where Robert lives with his wife and son, both of whom have been the inspiration for his writing.

When not writing, Robert enjoys good food (both cooking and eating it), the theatre from an audience perspective, travelling, photography and spending time with his son doing "boy's" things.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £14.99

  • 1 customer reviews
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £4.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Robert Webber / Related Books