Troubador Legend of the Five Javean

Released: 01/02/2013

ISBN: 9781780884271

Format: Paperback

Review this Book

Author Website

Legend of the Five Javean


12-year-old Liz is different from other children. She can read her brothers thoughts as if they were her own and when he begins to have nightmares, sees the monsters and the menacing oriental figure clearly as he does. Beyond being told they are adopted, Liz and Phil know nothing of their past and Alison Shaw, their mother, is determined to keep it that way. She takes the family to London for a few days of sightseeing, staying at a hotel run by Tom McFaddean, an explorer with an unusual hobby for collecting antique models of fighting men. Before returning home Liz and Phil buy a piece of jade for their mother from the local market. Next day, their house is ransacked and Liz attacked by an animal which disappears in a blaze of green light.

That night, young Fred from next door alerts the family to the presence of monsters in their garden. In the nick of time Tom McFaddean appears with the irrepressible Fred in tow. He warns the family that the monsters are Xantu and the creature a yuppy, an evil spirit sent by Zheng-Li to destroy the jade and the two young Javean. Then, with Alison wielding her hockey stick and Fred his catapult, the five go out to do battle. They must now turn their attention to the remainder of the legend. Does the presence of the monsters mean that the sorcerer has escaped?

Legend of the Five Javean is a thrilling tale of fantasy fiction that will appeal to children aged 9-12 years old. Set in 1959, the action takes place in a bygone age of radio and picture houses.

The Year the Swans Came marks a turning point in my career. After writing comedy and sending children on fantastical adventures, I am now writing fantasy for adults and top teens. The idea for Swans first came in 2010 when I was visiting Holland to celebrate the publication of Running. I completed the first draft in 2013 and followed this up with the series, 'Children of Zeus' following a suggestion by the agent, Felicity Bryan. The Year the Swans Came should be book 4, but everyone who has read it insists it has to be Book 1.

Be the first to review this book

Barbara Spencer

In 1967, considering herself to be destined for a life of mediocrity, Barbara Spencer hi-tailed it to the West Indies to watch cricket, the precursor to a highly colourful career spanning three continents in which she was caught up in riots, wars, and choosing Miss World. An award-winning children's author, over the past decade Barbara has been lucky enough to be invited to Booksignings at Waterstones throughout the Midlands and the south and west, and has visited dozens of primary and secondary schools. In 2017 Barbara decided to change horses in mid-stream and is now writing fantasy for adults.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £7.99

Also by Barbara Spencer / Related Books