Troubador Night After Night

Released: 28/03/2022

ISBN: 9781800465091

eISBN: 9781800466814

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Author Website

Night After Night

The Story of the Courage of a Lancaster Pilot With a Secret


The fascinating WW II story of William Meyer, a Lancaster pilot who carried the burden of a startling secret never revealed to the RAF or his crews.

Determined to serve his country and become a pilot, William Meyer leaves the comparative safety of his life in a ‘reserved’ occupation to volunteer for active service. After a training period in the USA and Scotland, he joins the RAF IX(B) Squadron flying Lancasters. He and his crew become known for their outstanding performance.

Introduced to the unique stresses and the strange duality of life in Bomber Command, William Meyer is caught between two worlds: the terrifying nights in the skies over Germany and ‘normal’ life off duty. And always, at the back of his mind, is the insistent thoughts of what tomorrow night might bring.

Luella Langevad tells the remarkable tale of how she traced William Meyer's time in the RAF, and how his startling secret was discovered. Follow her journey as she describes the unexpected results of this search in present day Germany, and the shock as a last poignant link to the past is discovered there.

Be the first to review this book

Luella Langevad

Luella Langevad grew up in near RAF Manston in Kent. She studied in Paris before working in London for some years. History has always fascinated her and following her first degree she took a Master's Degree in History for which she received a Distinction. A love of travel has seen her travel widely and she has lived in such different countries such as Borneo, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Libya and Belgium. She now spends time in Guernsey and London working in the family business and continues travelling as much as possible.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £12.99

  • Buy as an ebook
  • £5.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Luella Langevad / Related Books