Troubador Drown My Books

Released: 28/10/2016

ISBN: 9781785893018

eISBN: 9781785896255

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Drown My Books

by

If she disappeared on Monday night, more than three days ago, without her phone or her toothbrush, then she is dead, isn’t she?

Prolific crime writer Penny Freedman returns with her fifth novel in the Gina Gray series: Drown My Books.

The narrative follows the story of Gina Gray, a woman who is disappointed by work, love and life. She has settled on a bleak stretch of the Kent coast where she walks her surly dog, coaches unpromising A-level students and teaches English to asylum seekers in Dover, whose stories break her heart. The one bright spot in her life is the community library and the book group she organises; however, on one grim February morning, her dog finds a body on the beach and her source of comfort turns into her biggest threat...

Alarmingly, Gina learns that the dead woman is the second member of the book group to be killed, making Gina convinced that the book group is being targeted. DI Paula Powell, the lead of the police investigation, also happens to be Gina’s old rival in love, and Powell breaks the news that the killer is believed to be among Gina’s class of asylum seekers. With or without the help of DI Paula Powell, Gina has to move fast to find the truth. Could it be one of her asylum-seeker students who she admires so much that is actually a cold-blooded murderer?

Drown My Books will appeal to those who enjoy crime and mystery fiction, as well as fans of Penny’s former books. The book will also appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Susan Hill, authors that have inspired Penny’s writing.

Penny Freedman found the idea for 'This is a Dreadful Sentence' when she was teaching English at a college in Kent and noticed a kitchen knife lying on one of the bookshelves in the library. This picture lodged in her mind and came out years later as a new twist on the classic 'body in the library' plot: a foreign student is found stabbed and crushed to death in a college library.

Penny says, 'Once I had my plot, I knew I wanted to create a female sleuth who wasn't a superwoman but a real woman whose life readers would recognise and sympathise with.' And so she created Gina Gray, a forty-something divorcee with two daughters, one a stroppy teenager and the other a single mother frequently looking to Gina to step in and mind the baby. 'I had a picture in my mind,' Penny says, 'of a woman who does her investigating while pushing a baby in a buggy. And however exciting or scary her investigation gets, she still has to fit in trips to the supermarket. I find that readers like Gina because she's real and because she's brave and funny and speaks her mind.'

Be the first to review this book

Penny Freedman

Penny Freedman has taught English and Drama in schools, colleges and universities. Her experience as director of English Language courses for overseas students forms the background to her murder mystery, 'This is a Dreadful Sentence'.

She has always been an enthusastic amateur director and actress and has had short stories and theatre criticism published. Her book on Shakespeare's language was published in 2007.

She has two grown-up daughters and now lives with her husband in Stratford-upon-Avon, where she writes and lectures on Shakespeare in performance.

'This is a Dreadful Sentence' is her first novel but there is a sequel to follow and she plans further Gina Gray mysteries to come.

  • Buy as a printed
    book
  • £8.99
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £3.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Penny Freedman / Related Books