Troubador A Century of Twickenham Legends

Released: 01/12/2011

ISBN: 9781848765634

Format: Paperback

Review this Book

A Century of Twickenham Legends


The World Museum of Rugby set up a Wall of Fame to mark the centenary of Twickenham as the Headquarters of English Rugby, which staged its first international a century ago, in 1910.

Author David Llewellyn, who has 30 years’ experience of reporting rugby and cricket, provides profiles of all the great names in rugby; from England’s Freddie Chapman who scored the first international try at Twickenham in the first match in 1910 to Martin Johnson, who crowned his distinguished playing career by captaining the team to Rugby World Cup victory in Australia in 2003.

The list of players also includes Jonah Lomu, Ronnie Poulton Palmer and Will Carling. This collection of profiles and interviews contains previously unheard anecdotes, ranging from the amusing to the downright audacious. With biographical and background information, everything about the world’s finest players to have appeared at Twickenham is here.

The book kicks off with a characteristically amusing and witty foreword from The Independent’s Rugby Union Correspondent Chris Hewett. A Century of Twickenham Legends is a must-read for all rugby fans and will also appeal to sports fans.

The Bookseller Buyer's Guide, Autumn 2011

Be the first to review this book

  • Buy as a printed
  • £24.99
  • Currently out of stock
Also by David Llewellyn / Related Books