Troubador Muted Serenades

Released: 28/11/2016

eISBN: 9781785897320

Format: eBook

Review this Book

Muted Serenades

The Collected Poems


Muted Serenades is a collection of poetry that frequently alludes to the works of the greats. Covering a broad range of themes, Frank Dillon refers to poets such as Charles Baudelaire, T.S. Eliot and Dylan Thomas and musicians including The Beatles, Elvis and Bob Dylan throughout his collection. 

The four-volume assemblage begins with ‘Driving At Twilight’, a collection set in a narrow space, between light and dark, both physically and spiritually. Frank’s second-volume, ‘Tea Garden Summer’, takes a different approach as it covers subjects ranging from youth, memory, love and loss. The next volume, ‘English Gothic’, deals with macabre themes such as death, murder and doomed lovers. Finally, in ‘Mercy Sighed’, the author pays homage to his home city and showcases many of Liverpool’s many charms, recalling also the privations of wartime Liverpool, drawing upon themes of family life, community and tenacity. 

This varied collection has something for everybody and will therefore appeal to a wide range of poetry lovers. In particular, readers with a local interest in Liverpool, as well as those living in or born in Liverpool will enjoy the book.

I got back to poetry by reading this book. The poems are beautifully written and they create astonshing images. I liked how it wasn't the kind of contemporary poetry that doesn't make any sense, but it was clear and straightforward. I had my doubts about this book, but it was a beautiful, lyrical surprise.

by NetGalley review

  • Buy as an ebook
  • £0.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Frank Dillon / Related Books