Troubador Appetites

Released: 28/10/2019

ISBN: 9781838591144

eISBN: 9781838596859

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Author Website


Stories of Love Sex and Death


A solitary woman, her life changed by an afternoon of ‘wanting, wanting, wanting’, becomes obsessed with a writer at his desk by the window below.

A nameless, middle-aged narrator, his sexuality awakened by the manipulative mother of a classmate, looks back to that hot summer in the ‘Garden of Eden’, where young lives were changed and ruined. 

And Lennie-girl’s father, craving the warmth of his birthplace, forsakes his daughter and vulnerable son. 

Three stories from a nineteen-story collection in which themes of love and loss, break up and renewal, pleasures and regrets, weave in and out of the lives of protagonists whose ages range from thirteen to sixty-something. 

Listen to Maggie talking about Appetites: stories of love sex and death, between 9 and 10pm, on The Sophie Little Show, BBC Radio Norfolk, Friday November 1st, 2019.

And check out On the Shelf: the oxymoronic life of an under-published writer, podcasts in which memoir is mixed with readings, by Maggie, from eight of the nineteen stories in the Appetites collection. The six episode series is now on Spotify, iTunes as well as on her website:

Appetites: stories of love, sex and death has been selected by Waterstones (Norwich) as one of their favourite new releases from the year so far.

Carpe Diem , one of three linked stories stemming from The Homecoming (published in Appetites ), makes top 50 of 1100 entries to the BBC National Short Story Award

That's Books

I am not a huge reader these days, but Maggie's " Appetites" has been a perfect solution to my years in the literary wilderness!
I have loved the simplicity of her short stories, but above all how she understands the complexities of human characters and is able to form interesting stories around them.
I shall look forward to the sequel with excited anticipation.
Thank you Maggie.

by Georgina Hughes

A very interesting and unusual collection of short stories about appetite in every sense of the word. Highly recommended.

by NetGalley

Maggie Ling

Previously a cartoonist and illustrator, her work published in books, magazines and newspapers, her cartoon collection, One Woman's Eye, published by Virgin Books, Maggie swapped dip pen for iMac to work with words alone.

Since then, her short stories have been listed in numerous competitions, including the Fish short story Prize, the Asham Award, the Bridport Prize and the BBC National Short Story Award, and published in Unthology 1(Unthanks Books, 2010), Something Was There, the Asham Award-winning ghost story collection (Virago 2011), Unthology 5 (Unthank, 2014), Appetites: stories of love, sex and death (Matador, 2019) and The Fairlight Book of Short Stories: vol 1 (Fairlight Books, 2020). Online: her story Let Her Go was Seren's Short Story of the Month ( October 2017) and the Bridport shortlisted Bird Brains and thrice-listed Running Away on fairlight, May 2019.

She lives in Norwich, a UNESCO City of literature.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £9.99

  • 2 customer reviews
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £3.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Maggie Ling / Related Books