Troubador Murchison's Fragment

Released: 28/05/2015

eISBN: 9781784628697

Format: eBook

Review this Book

Murchison's Fragment

and other short plays for stage and radio


Murchison’s Fragment brings together nineteen plays – mostly for stage but with three for radio – that range from a deceptively frivolous, if macabre, 10-minute monologue to an uncompromising 45-minute study of imprisonment and torture based upon a real-life situation. In between are tales of ambition, greed and human frailty, here and there touching upon horror and the supernatural. Throughout, we encounter flawed individuals getting their comeuppance or – just as likely (and unjustly) – escaping it; elsewhere, others less deserving succumb to forces beyond their control. Some of the plays are unambiguously and intentionally serious: one, for example, follows the adventures of a boy within the autistic spectrum, determined to do a good deed but failing to realise the cost of his actions; another concerns reparations to Kenyans who suffered under the colonial administration during the Mau Mau insurgency; a third offers a challenging and doubtless contentious interpretation of a New Testament episode – the resurrection of Jesus. Other plays may appear lighter, even humorous, although darker threads almost always run through them. ‘Murchison’s Fragment’, which lends its title to the collection, is a story of lost opportunity set in London and east Africa; here the protagonist unwisely allows lust to overcome reason, with far-reaching consequences. The collection ends with a romantic love story in which a formidable barrier to a fulfilling relationship unexpectedly falls away. For each play a synopsis is provided, with additional notes where there is background interest.

At the time of writing publication is still three weeks ahead.

Be the first to review this book

Roger Curtis

I was born in Sussex but spent most of my childhood in west London. After graduation I worked in Africa, in the pharmaceutical industry, in scientific research and, most recently, in government service. Murchison's Fragment - a collection of nineteen short plays, including three for radio - was written after my retirement and is my first book of fiction.

Roger in his Suffolk garden

Murchison's Fragment
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £2.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Roger Curtis / Related Books