Troubador The Sea of Lucidity

Released: 28/04/2017

ISBN: 9781788036764

eISBN: 9781788038218

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

The Sea of Lucidity

The Eldormaar Book 1


Losing his way in Farnwaar Forest, Ranger Taro Brook stumbles upon a startling discovery… As a band of hooded riders approach his settlement, Morusk of DunTreggan begins to suspect that things may not be all they seem… And in the land of Enntonia, Token ScriptScratcher, the Scribe of Bog-Mire Towers, takes frantic steps to thwart the impending return of a dark menace he had hoped would stay forever banished. Caught in unfamiliar surroundings where the concept of time, past, present and future appear to hold no relevance, Taro Brook quickly has to come to terms with the daunting prospect that reality may be little more than an illusion. In his efforts to return to normality he reluctantly accepts assistance from the Drifter Sanna Vrai, a woman with the ability to navigate between worlds and Messenger Two Cups, a chattering individual with an insatiable tea addiction. Remaining sceptical of all he is being told by his new-found companions, yet unable to deny the things he has seen, Taro Brook’s resilience is put to the harshest test of all when he is confronted with a chilling revelation… Originally intended as a standalone novel, this gripping tale now also introduces an inspired new fantasy series which will appeal to those looking to discover and explore a myriad of worlds, all intrinsically linked and in which there exists an infinite number of everything and everyone.

Imagine Iain Banks meets J.R.R Tolkien over lunch, and they decide to write a book.
What is actually happening in The Sea of Lucidity is not always what appears to be happening. There is a twist half way through. A brilliant piece of writing, it took my breath away. I really enjoyed this book and would firmly recommend it.

by Hugh

In my humble opinion this novel deserves a place on the bookshelf of any lover of a fast-paced, interesting and well-written tale.

There are a multitude of interesting characters (several with various identities), yet the reader is never confused or finds the need to reference back as the author cleverly keeps the both the story and the development of the characters moving forward.

This book could initially be perceived as pure fantasy fiction, however David Mackay also touches on very current topics. One such topic which particularly amused me was the rather cynical nod to government corruption and indecision through the character of Procrastinator Vardoger.

Highly recommended. I very much look forward to reading more about the adventures of Taro Brook et al. in The Eldormaar II..

by Lynne Russell

A fantastic read. I was engaged and gripped all the way through and although there are various stories going on I was never confused. The author certainly kept my attention and made me fall in love with the characters. The worlds that he paints are so vivid and real that at the end of the book I simply didn't want to leave. Looking forward to the next instalment.

by Simone L

I thought this was a good introduction to this series. It was fast paced and well written story with an array of interesting characters. Although there are quite a few characters I didn't get confused about who was who. The world building is good and I found the book easy to get into. Overall this was a good book and I would recommend checking it out if the synopsis interests you.

by Philippa Mary

A stunning work of fantasy fiction, a real page turner. Enjoyed it immensely, even more so on the second read through! Highly recommended.

by Robert

  • Buy as a printed
  • £7.99

  • 5 customer reviews
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £3.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by David Mackay / Related Books