Troubador The Drumming of Heels

Released: 28/04/2021

ISBN: 9781800463387

Format: Paperback

Review this Book

Author Website

The Drumming of Heels

Book 3 of Children of Zeus


War has overtaken the continent, the invaders trampling nations and people into the dust and once again, the carinatae or swan-people have been forced to flee, all except for Yöst. He has repaid his debt to Ramon, rescuing Rico and Maestro, the musician, from certain death. In doing so, he has bought himself immortality as people tell of the angel who gave them hope.

Still mourning the loss of their brother, Zande and Tatania continue his work aware that shortly both will be forced to confront the majesty and complexity of the carinatae life.

Or will they renege as did Albert Meijer and choose a human existence instead?

The Year the Swans Came marks a turning point in my career. After writing comedy and sending children on fantastical adventures, I am now writing fantasy for adults and top teens. The idea for Swans first came in 2010 when I was visiting Holland to celebrate the publication of Running. I completed the first draft in 2013 and followed this up with the series, 'Children of Zeus' following a suggestion by the agent, Felicity Bryan. The Year the Swans Came should be book 4, but everyone who has read it insists it has to be Book 1.

Be the first to review this book

Barbara Spencer

In 1967, considering herself to be destined for a life of mediocrity, Barbara Spencer hi-tailed it to the West Indies to watch cricket, the precursor to a highly colourful career spanning three continents in which she was caught up in riots, wars, and choosing Miss World. An award-winning children's author, over the past decade Barbara has been lucky enough to be invited to Booksignings at Waterstones throughout the Midlands and the south and west, and has visited dozens of primary and secondary schools. In 2017 Barbara decided to change horses in mid-stream and is now writing fantasy for adults.

  • Buy as a printed
  • £9.99
  • Currently out of stock
Also by Barbara Spencer / Related Books