Troubador Mr. Maniac

Released: 28/06/2017

ISBN: 9781788035323

eISBN: 9781788031448

Format: Paperback/eBook

Review this Book

Author Website

Mr. Maniac

A supernatural thriller of heart-stopping intensity

by

Johan Fundin’s Mr. Maniac is a chilling tale of suspense, horror and a mysterious killer. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

A horror suspense novelist gets lost in the grey zone between fiction and reality when real murders of young women appear copied from his latest, still unfinished manuscript. 

Someone is murdering female students at a university in northern England. Among the victims is a Swedish girl. Kenneth Sorin, a chemical physics doctor and horror suspense novelist, starts his own murky murder investigation with the help of his cat and his new mysterious girlfriend. The girlfriend turns out to be a spy and secret agent for SCDX, a shadowy international law enforcement organisation. 

Meanwhile, Kenneth receives strange telephone calls: an old lady who died ten years ago phones the author from her grave, encouraging him to look inside himself for the truth. The tracks lead Kenneth to the world of science and mysticism, including a meeting with a professor in Paris. 

He discovers bizarre elements in his own fiction writing. In addition, he happened to meet the Swedish girl twice: the same evening she was stabbed to death, and a year earlier, in connection with a trip to Sweden. 

Could he be the killer himself? Is the author a psychotic fictional character who stepped out of his own book?

What readers are saying about the novels of Johan Fundin:

“Really exciting from beginning to end – a 'page turner'.”

“What a shocker! It’s really really good! Has everything a suspense novel needs; mystery, murder, red herrings, characters, love, and even a car chase!”

“It's very suspenseful. There’s finesse in the train of thought and the use of language differs from that of other thrillers.”

“Exciting, entertaining, vividly described, electrifying. I’m impressed. What a finish!”

“What a thrilling story! Impressive!”

From a Yellow House

Creepy & captivating in equal measure. A great story idea, though I found myself getting confused between what was dream/reality & it was hard to keep up in some places. Overall I enjoyed it & was pleased I persevered.

by Cath Bell


Johan Fundin

Johan Fundin grew up in Kungsör, Sweden. He has a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Uppsala University and a background as a research scientist in the dynamic field of condensed matter physics, the most active subfield of modern physics. He has published various articles in world-renowned scientific journals. Today he lives in Sheffield and is always at work on a next novel.

  • Buy as a printed
    book
  • £7.99

  • 1 customer reviews
  • Buy as an ebook
  • £3.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Johan Fundin / Related Books