Troubador The Chronicle of Charles Weatherby

Released: 01/02/2013

eISBN: 9781780885933

Format: eBook

Review this Book

The Chronicle of Charles Weatherby

by

At first things had seemed to be going rather well. Charles was in fact a nice person with an innate sense of decency and a certain relaxed, natural, charm. He seemed to fit in. Unfortunately however, as it transpired, Charles was a little too relaxed for his own good.

The Chronicle of Charles Weatherby is set in the early 1980s and tells the tale of Charles, who drifts into a job in the City for which he is wholly unsuited and, failing to read the politics at the long established Stones & Co., finds himself peremptorily fired. Unemployed and rusticated, Charles agrees to go to India on an errand for a friend of his wife's family. Here his grip on reality slips and he believes that someone is trying to kill him.

Eventually, he manages to get back to England and is reunited with his wife. Life settles down but it isn’t long before his old employer is in the news – for all the wrong reasons. Charles feels that something that he has done in India may be to blame, but he fails to take into account the Machiavellian machinations of one of his former colleagues. This person offers him a job but he ends up buying a bookshop, made possible by the deviousness of the person who sent him to India. With his career resolved, other aspects of Charles’ life start to resolve themselves and he discovers some startling information about his wife’s family. Ironically, it is this that has lead, indirectly, to his transformation from failed yuppie into contented bookshop proprietor. It would be nice to say that Charles’ enemies are confounded and his friends prosper, but life is rarely as clean cut as that...

The Chronicle of Charles Weatherby is a work of humorous fiction that will appeal to fans of Evelyn Waugh, William Trevor and William Boyd, all of whom have inspired author Bill.

Be the first to review this book

  • Buy as an ebook
  • £3.99
  • Find this ebook at your favourite retailer
Also by Bill Grant / Related Books