Troubador The Hollies: Riding the Carousel

Released: 28/08/2021

ISBN: 9781800463493

Format: Paperback

Review this Book

The Hollies: Riding the Carousel

A Biography


‘The Hollies: Riding The Carousel’ is the first full biography of the British music legends. This extensive project, researched in detail, covers the story from their early 1960s formation, playing the small clubs and coffee houses in and around Manchester, right up to the current day.

Second only to The Beatles in UK Chart successes at their peak, this work draws on many rare interviews with all former members of the group during their hit-making heyday. In addition, friends and acquaintances also share their thoughts and recollections as to what made this band so special.

I’m Alive, Here I Go Again, Bus Stop, Look Through Any Window, Carrie Anne, On A Carousel, He Ain’t Heavy He’s My Brother, The Air That I Breathe, Long Cool Woman (In A Black Dress)… and many, many more are covered within the pages, along with a selection of rare photographs and posters.

Why did the group’s original guitarist leave, just before success came calling? Which former member went on to achieve superstardom in the U.S. after quitting the band? How did a founding member of the 1970s chart-topers 10cc play such an important role in the Hollies story? What did The Hollies get up top on a darkened Newcastle railway platform in the company of Paul McCartney’s younger brother? How did a beer commercial revitalise the career of the group?

Stories, history, chart facts… it’s all here. Climb aboard and start Riding The Carousel!

Be the first to review this book

Malcolm Searles

An Essex-based music biographer

  • Buy as a printed
  • £20.00

Also by Malcolm C. Searles / Related Books