Published: 15/05/2018
ISBN: 9781789013382
Format: Paperback

Buy Printed Book


Buy as a printed book
from our online shop
Out of Stock

About the Author

Bronwen is the author of ‘A Bird in the House’ (2014) and ‘Not Here, Not Us – stories of Syria’ (2016). Her flash fiction and award-winning short stories have been widely published. She grew up in the... read more

There are 0 items in your basket | Checkout

Here Casts No Shadow
by Bronwen Griffiths

Here Casts No Shadow explores the impact of war, exile and trauma on a family and the devastating result of a single act of revenge.

Fifteen-year old Mira lives a quiet life in the small town of Zazour. The fictitious country of Lyrian is under the grip of a ruthless dictator. The political situation has little impact on Mira’s daily life until she witnesses her brother’s friend, Tam, shot dead in the street. Despite the fact Mira has never had a romantic relationship with Tam, she is seriously in love with him.

Zazour is bombed and her brother’s friends disappear. This prompts Mira to avenge Tam’s death. She enlists the help of her brother, Kaz. Shortly after, the family is forced to flee.

Six months pass. Camp life is hard. Mira’s father and brother return to Lyrian to fight for the opposition.

Eventually the family leave and settle in Neeland, thousands of miles from home. Mira’s brother does not go with them.

Many years pass. Now, in adult life, as Mira’s father’s health deteriorates, Mira’s past threatens to catch up with her and destroy the life she has built for herself. Mira and her sister plead with Kaz to see their father for one last time. But she fears Kaz will reveal their crime and tear their family apart.

  • Author News
  • View Press Coverage
  • Read Book Reviews
  • Review This Book

No news has been uploaded for this title

No press coverage has been uploaded for this title

Be the first to review this book


Your Review

Your Name
Please enter your name.

To combat spam, please enter the text opposite into the box below:
Please enter the text:


Return to Book List