Published: 01/04/2007
ISBN: 9781905886524
Format: Hardback

"I enjoyed getting involved in the relationships of the characters, and found this book hard to put down."
Woman's Own Book Club more

Buy Printed Book


Buy as a printed book
from our online shop

Find this ebook at your favourite retailer

Also by this Author

About the Author

Carolyn McCrae is a northerner, born on the Wirral (Cheshire) in 1950. After 35 years of moving around Kent, Berkshire, Cornwall, Worcestershire, Shropshire, the Isle of Wight and Devon she has now r... read more

There are 0 items in your basket | Checkout

Walking Alone
The Iniquities Trilogy II
by Carolyn McCrae

Charles Donaldson did not expect his mother’s funeral to disturb the quiet routine of his comfortable life. He had not been close to her, indeed he had hardly known her.

On the day of her funeral he learned something of the history of his mysterious benefactor, Max, and their housekeeper, Monika. It was knowledge that gave him no comfort. On that day he made an enemy of his cousin, Graham, whose greed was to lead to more than one murder, blackmail and a joyless marriage. On that day he argued with his sister, Susannah, leading them both to appraise and alter the courses of their lives.

And on that day Charles met Holly Eccleston.

At the end of Walking Alone, as with the first in the series The Last Dance, it appears that the mystery is solved, the reason why no one has told the truth appears to have been revealed, and the couple seem to be in a position to live happily ever after.

Each book is a good read in itself, ending in a satisfying manner. It is not necessary to have read the first to enjoy this, though knowledge of what went before would add depth to your understanding.

However, it will only be at the end of the third novel, Runaways that the reader will find out what has been going on all along….

  • Author News
  • View Press Coverage
  • Read Book Reviews
  • Review This Book

Carolyn enjoys writing - sticking with it through the hard times because she has stories to tell.
Hostage to Fortune is Carolyn's eighth title and the fourth in a series of 'history mysteries' where modern day mysteries (murder, abduction, fraud) are solved through an understanding of families' histories. Investigation into a missing keeper of a safe house leads Skye and Fergal (our historical consultants) to preventing a psychopathic killer adding to his tally.
A Second Strand, her seventh title is Carolyn's second murder mystery (though all other books involve some degree of mystery of one sort or another).
The main suspect disappears two days after he discovers his dying neighbour and before DNA tests indicate the victim was his father.
Is he guilty? If so why? If not who is? And what, if any, are the links to a previous murder, perpetrated in the same small town (Yarmouth, Isle of Wight) two years earlier.

Her Parents' Daughter A woman is arrested, gun in hand, standing over a murder victim. Was she as guilty as she appeared to be or had she been set up? And if set up, why and by whom?

A Set of Lies was published to mark the Napoleonic bi-centenary in 2015 is an alternate historical mystery covering two hundred years of a family's history. It introduces Skye and Fergal who feature in her new soon-to-be-published A Second Strand

The Iniquities Trilogy; The Last Dance, Walking Alone and Runaways
Each book stands alone but as a trilogy the reader learns more about the extended Donaldson family than they ever knew themselves. This is now being reworked as one book to be available in the Spring of 2018. (Well... musicians re-record their earlier works...)

Highly Unsuitable Girl In which a northern girl, who moves south, finally understands who she is and what she wants from life, eventually growing up (at the age of forty something).

No press coverage has been uploaded for this title

Be the first to review this book


Your Review

Your Name
Please enter your name.

To combat spam, please enter the text opposite into the box below:
Please enter the text:


Return to Book List