Published: 28/05/2016
ISBN: 9781785891861
Format: Paperback



Buy Printed Book

£10.99

Buy as a printed book
from our online shop
Get £2 off with the code 'RALLY'!
Discount Code:

Also by this Author



About the Author



I am a retired head teacher, having taught in Inner London schools for almost 40 years. I studied Classics at London University and I took my M.A.(Curriculum Studies) at Goldsmith College, Lond... read more

There are 0 items in your basket | Checkout

A New Day Dawning
Those scallywag days in post-war rural Tipperary
by Edward Forde Hickey

“Like the peeling of an onion, there lurks inside each one of us that small unshaped child, who supposedly perished and died years and years ago...”

A New Day Dawning is set in the unreal world of Rookery Rally, which portrays Tipperary countryside and a hillside community in the late 1940s. It follows a group of children through their formative years as their personal beliefs and personalities develop.

Alternating acts of good and evil are carried out by the children as they struggle to set their own moral compasses. They walk three miles to bring back a puppy for an old man left broken-hearted by the death of his dog; they accompany their parents on a hunt and share in the act of killing foxes and their cubs; they drown a tinker’s pup; they turn over a new leaf and promise to be good after a stern fire-and-brimstone sermon.

There’s stop-and-start progression within the children’s moral development as they try to prove themselves good and worthy people on their jaunty adolescent journey towards adulthood. Will the good outweigh the bad? Will optimism outweigh the cynicism of today’s world?

“A work of classical storytelling for a crossover children-adult readership in the vein of Mark Twain and Harper Lee... frequently enthralling.”
– Ben Evans, Senior Editor, Addison & Cole

  • Author News
  • View Press Coverage
  • Read Book Reviews
  • Review This Book

I am using two publicists to make my writing well known in both America and Australia (as well as the publicity given me in the UK and Ireland by Troubador).
I have two adverts and reviews appearing at the end of May in The Nenagh Guardian and The Tipperary Star newspapers.
I have two book-signings in Nenagh and Thurles, the major north Tipperary towns.
I am doing a Q/A session about my book in early February and it should appear on U-tube.

That's Books and Entertainment

Be the first to review this book

 

Your Review

Your Name
Please enter your name.

To combat spam, please enter the text opposite into the box below:
Please enter the text:

 

Return to Book List