Published: 28/08/2015
ISBN: 9781784623456
eISBN: 9781784629878
Format: Paperback/eBook



Buy Printed Book

£8.99

Buy as a printed book
from our online shop
Get £3 off with the code 'BERLIN'!
Discount Code:

Find this ebook at your favourite retailer


About the Author



Richard Handy is an experienced writer and editor of numerous academic works of non-fiction. These include books, book chapters, commissioned symposium volumes, book reviews, special issues of scienti... read more

There are 0 items in your basket | Checkout

The Reich Device
by Richard D. Handy

‘Professor Gustav Mayer trembled as equations flowed from his pen. His heart missed a beat. If physics was music, then this was Mozart – thousands of atoms coming together to play the Requiem – but only if you knew the rules. Newton gave us rules for dealing with gravity. Einstein created rules for dealing with light. This was something different – a new set of rules that would change the world, and the course of humanity for ever.’

Professor Gustav Mayer is riddled with guilt after making a monumental discovery: a new technology a century ahead of its time. But his secret is not safe, the world is not safe – a new menace rises in 1930’s Germany. Mayer’s world spirals out of control; hunted by ruthless killers from the newly formed SS, a game of brinkmanship begins. Who is the grey man? Assassin or protector?

A global trail of espionage leads from Berlin to New York, Cairo, and London – but is it all a grand deception? What are German spies doing in South Africa? What does this have to do with big American corporations? Meanwhile, Mayer is forced to work on fledgling rocket technology for the new regime in Berlin, but his captors suspect he conceals an even greater secret. British intelligence makes a bold attempt to rescue Mayer, but the plan goes wrong and Mayer is critically injured.

Mayer is interrogated by the ruthless Commandant Kessler, and in a moment of delirium mutters a vital part of his secret; but it doesn’t make any sense. Mayer is moved to the infamous V1 rocket site at Peenemünde – a smoke screen for a more deadly ultra top secret weapon – but time is running out. A daring fight in the swamp forests of Zululand, and the duping of British intelligence, gets crucial raw materials back to Germany. But the game is not over until the last man is standing – assassins on both sides have men to kill.

This scientific thriller, with its intricate plot, will appeal to fans of Robert Harris’s Fatherland, Guy Saville’s Afrika Reich and Clive Cussler’s The Spy.

  • Author News
  • View Press Coverage
  • Read Book Reviews
  • Review This Book

The Reich Device is now available as a paperback or e-book. Here are some of the comments from the critical reviewers on drafts of this novel:

“. . . a rollicking spy thriller that pivots around intellectuals and ideas . . .”


“. . . driven by terrifically paced and visceral action . . .”

“. . . you are a formidably capable action writer . . .”


“. . . a compelling and stylishly written read . . .”

http://richardhandy.com/index.html

One Giant Read

Books Monthly

Plymouth University

Plymouth Herald

I have just finished reading the Reich Device and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a real page turner and the twists and turns of the plot kept me hooked all the way to the end. I found the characters to be believeable and nicely balanced between good and evil. I recommend this book to anyone who likes some science with their thriller.

by Neil Smith


This was a real page-turner, that had me hooked from start to finish! I loved the twists and turns in the story and can't wait for the next episode in the saga! An excellent, believable thriller, cleverly written.

by Sara


A rollicking good read, couldnt wait to turn the page, finished it in two days.

by L Morton


"Just a warning...when starting this book make sure you don't have anywhere you need to be or anything you need to do because you won't want to stop reading until you've finished it all!! Trust me on this! "The Reich Device" starts off with an intriguing beginning and just keeps going from there, with one surprising turn after another..."

by Brenda, Indie Book Reviewers (rated 5 stars)


"The Reich Device by Richard D. Handy was of the most original, complex, and brilliantly-crafted novels I've read in a long time! I was completely drawn in from the opening scene that sets the unique, almost movie-like mood right away, and absolutely loved the author's style of writing. Very fast-paced, yet really descriptive and with detail and passion and intelligent, multilayered sub plots on a global scale..."

by Tabitha, Indie Book Reviewers (rated 5 stars)


"I was hooked from the first pages of "The Reich Device" by Richard D. Handy and my interest never faded for a moment! I loved the creative storyline and strong characters and intricate plots that continued to build and shock and surprise. Just when you think you know what's happening, something comes along to throw a wrench in it. This is good because I HATE books that are super predictable. And this one isn't..."

by Samantha, Indie Book Reviewers (rated 5 stars)


"The Reich Device by Richard Handy grabbed me from the opening pages and didn't let go until the very end. It is rare to find a book that keeps my attention all the way through, but this one did. I was totally caught up in the whirlwind of events, and loved the behind the scenes action of the pre-WWII political and SS/Nazi element, and how real life historical figures played an important part in this action-packed story. Nothing lights my fire more than unpredictable twists, and "The Reich Device" did not disappoint! ..."

by Elizabeth Brown, Indie Book Reviewers (rated 4 stars)


"I had a great time reading "The Reich Device" by Richard D. Handy. Almost non-stop drama and a fast moving plot kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. The writing was excellent, very few errors as far as I could tell which is always a huge plus on my end. I hate sloppy editing! Really enjoyed philosophical angle that helped to shed some light on the role of science and politics in Nazi ideology... it was provocative and eye-opening, and the way that the authors infused them with authentic, flawed characters and a compelling storyline - makes it feel that much more believable. Almost like a blend of fact and fiction, if you will. I was really impressed with the writing style, the brisk pacing and strong word choice works well here, and it seems like Handy has done his homework, as the level of historical and technical and scientific detailing was certainly impressive. Recommend for fans of historical fiction/espionage/political thrillers."

by Claire, Indie Book Reviewers (rated 4.5 stars)


It was thrilling and it was a very historically accurate spy novel.

by Michael Petkus


 

Your Review

Your Name
Please enter your name.

To combat spam, please enter the text opposite into the box below:
Please enter the text:

 

Return to Book List