Published: 01/04/2012
ISBN: 9781780880990
eISBN: 9781780889443
Format: Paperback/eBook

Buy Printed Book


Buy as a printed book
from our online shop
Matador customers get £2 off this title by using the code 'CRICKET'!
Discount Code:

Find this ebook at your favourite retailer

About the Author

Peter Aspinall is a former full-time professional newspaper journalist who has just completed his first novel, 'The Tour.' The book - although based on a cricket tour - is not a sports book, in fact,... read more

There are 0 items in your basket | Checkout

The Tour
by Peter Aspinall

‘The place is grubby, the guy’s not even got a television and he eats dead fish in front of a fire that’s gone out.’

The Tour is a comedy drama adventure novel, underpinned by a sobering moral story. Its six leading characters will fully engage and delight the reader as their diverse and colourful personalities unfold and clash. The arrival of a dashing young Australian – the first ever professional at Crawford Cricket Club – brings both ‘bonza’ times and bother for his new colleagues. Stuey’s new landlord, Bernard Gazelle, is a staid man three times his lodger’s age who learns to cope with the demands of a young knave determined to have a good time – legal or otherwise.

Meanwhile, Sammy the winsome wicketkeeper becomes infatuated with the new recruit and the outrageous antics of all concerned test the tolerance of stuffy club chairman Norman F. Billington to breaking point and beyond…

The Tour is inspired by Peter Tinniswood, author of I Didn’t Know You Cared and A Touch of Daniel. It will appeal to fans of comic fiction and the well-heeled English language.

  • Author News
  • View Press Coverage
  • Read Book Reviews
  • Review This Book

No news has been uploaded for this title

The Lancashire Magazine

Wigan Today, April 2012

The Bookseller Buyer's Guide, Spring 2012

Be the first to review this book


Your Review

Your Name
Please enter your name.

To combat spam, please enter the text opposite into the box below:
Please enter the text:


Return to Book List